REQUEST FOR A CLASSIFICATION CERTIFICATE

BEFORE SUBMITTING YOUR APPLICATION

Please remember that the income from the operation of your establishment for tourist accommodation purposes must be declared in accordance with the law.

The information on your application is sent to the Minister of Revenue, who is responsible for inspections and investigations relating to the application of the Tourist Accommodation Act and its regulations.

This form is intended for individuals or corporations who wish to offer tourist accommodation other than in a principal residence.
Principal Residence Establishment
.


If your establishment meets the definition of a Principal Residence Establishment, click here.


Eligibility
Your establishment will be considered a tourist accommodation establishment according to the Tourist Accommodation Establishments Act if you offer at least one unit (room, bed, house, apartment, etc.) for rent
• to tourists,
• for periods of 31 days or less (by night, week or weekend),
• for a fee,
• in any form of media (Internet site, social networks, bulletin board, newspaper, poster, etc.).

Compliance with municipal regulations
Before applying for a classification certificate, we recommend that you check the requirements (permits, emergency plan, etc.) of your municipality, borough or regional county municipality.

In addition, you are responsible for complying with municipal regulations regarding nuisance, safety and sanitation.

Pursuant to section 6.1 of the Act respecting tourist accommodation establishments, upon receipt of an application for a classification certificate, the CITQ will notify the municipality, borough or regional county municipality of the establishment on whose territory the establishment is located of the application received and the proposed use. The municipality, borough or regional county municipality will then have 45 days to object to the application if the proposed use of the establishment contravenes municipal regulations.

Documents to provide
If your application complies with the municipal by-laws, we will send you an invoice for the applicable fees and a list of the documents required to complete your application based on your answers to the questions on this form. In particular, you must attach the following scanned documents (pdf or jpg) to your application:

• Title deed, municipal tax bill or lease agreement,
• Proof of liability insurance of at least $2,000,000 per occurrence,
• If applicable, a copy of the provisions of the declaration of co-ownership or the rental agreement allowing the operation of your residence for tourist accommodation purposes*.

*If such provisions are not included in the Declaration of Co-ownership or the tenancy agreement, you will need to produce a landlord's authorization or an authorization from the syndicate of co-owners allowing the operation of a tourist accommodation establishment. These authorizations are provided as examples. They can be used as is.

DEMANDE D'ATTESTATION DE CLASSIFICATION


En prévision de l’application au 1er septembre 2022 de la nouvelle Loi sur l’hébergement touristique, veuillez noter que toutes demandes soumises à compter de maintenant pourraient ne pas être complétées avant cette date. Le cas échéant, il vous faudra soumettre une nouvelle demande en ligne à compter du 1e septembre 2022.

AVANT DE FAIRE VOTRE DEMANDE

Nous vous rappelons que les revenus découlant de l'exploitation de votre établissement à des fins d'hébergement touristique devront être déclarés conformément à la loi.

Les informations relatives à votre demande sont transmises au ministre du Revenu, lequel est notamment chargé des inspections et des enquêtes ayant trait à l’application de la loi sur les établissements d’hébergement touristique et son règlement.

Ce formulaire s’adresse aux personnes physiques ou morales qui souhaitent offrir de l’hébergement touristique ailleurs que dans un Établissement de résidence principale .


Si votre établissement répond à la définition d’un Établissement de résidence principale, cliquez ici.


Admissibilité
Votre établissement sera considéré comme un établissement d’hébergement touristique selon la Loi sur les établissements d’hébergement touristique si vous offrez au moins une unité (chambre, lit, maison, appartement, etc.) en location
• à des touristes;
• pour des périodes de 31 jours et moins (à la nuitée, semaine ou fin de semaine);
• contre rémunération;
• sur un média, peu importe sa forme (site Internet, réseaux sociaux, babillard, journal, affiche, etc.).

Conformité à la réglementation municipale
Avant de faire une demande d’attestation de classification, nous vous recommandons de vérifier les exigences (permis, plan d’urgence, etc.) de votre municipalité, de votre arrondissement ou de votre municipalité régionale de comté.

De plus, vous avez la responsabilité de respecter la réglementation municipale en matière de nuisance, de sécurité et de salubrité.

En vertu de l’article 6.1 de la Loi sur les établissements d’hébergement touristique, sur réception d’une demande d’attestation de classification, la CITQ avisera la municipalité, l’arrondissement ou la municipalité régionale de comté de l’établissement sur le territoire duquel est situé l’établissement de la demande reçue et de l’usage projeté. La municipalité, l’arrondissement ou la municipalité régionale de comté disposera alors de 45 jours pour s’opposer à la demande si l’usage projeté de l’établissement contrevient à la règlementation municipale.

Documents à fournir
Si votre demande est conforme à la réglementation municipale, nous vous transmettrons une facture pour les frais exigibles et la liste des documents requis pour compléter votre demande en fonction des réponses que vous donnerez aux questions de ce formulaire. Vous devrez notamment joindre à votre demande les documents numérisés (pdf ou jpg) suivants :

• Le titre de propriété, le compte de taxes municipales ou le contrat de location;
• Une preuve d'assurance responsabilité civile d'au moins 2 000 000 $ par événement;
• Le cas échéant, une copie des dispositions de la déclaration de copropriété ou du contrat de location permettant l’exploitation de votre résidence à des fins d’hébergement touristique*.

*Si de telles dispositions sont absentes de la déclaration de copropriété ou du contrat de location, vous devrez produire une autorisation du propriétaire ou une autorisation du syndicat des copropriétaires permettant l’exploitation d’un établissement d’hébergement touristique. Ces autorisations sont fournies à titre d’exemple. Elles peuvent être utilisées telles quelles.